The UEFA award winners for 2020/21: Jorginho wins best men’s player


At UEFA’s ceremony to celebrate the start of the new football season, prizes were given out to the best performers of the past year, with Jorginho taking the prize for the men’s player of the year, for his performances in winning the Champions League with Chelsea and Euro 2020 with Italy.

His Chelsea coach Thomas Tuchel and teammates Edouard Mendy and N’Golo Kante also won awards, while Erling Haaland collected a prize as the best forward.

The women’s awards for the past year were also given out, with the most illustrious honour going to Alexia Putellas.

The full list of UEFA awards

Men’s Player of the Year: Jorginho (Chelsea and Italy)

Men’s Coach of the Year: Thomas Tuchel (Chelsea)

Men’s Goalkeeper of the Champions League season: Edouard Mendy (Chelsea and Senegal)

Men’s Defender of the Champions League season: Ruben Dias (Manchester City and Portugal)

Men’s Midfielder of the UEFA Champions League season: N’Golo Kante (Chelsea and France)

Men’s Forward of the UEFA Champions League season: Erling Haaland (Dortmund and Norway)

Women’s Player of the Year: Alexia Putellas (Barcelona and Spain)

Women’s Coach of the Year: Lluis Cortes (Barcelona)

Goalkeeper of the Champions League season: Sandra Panos (Barcelona and Spain)

Women’s Defender of the Champions League season: Irene Paredes (Barcelona and Spain)

Women’s Midfielder of the Champions League season: Alexia Putellas (Barcelona and Spain)

Women’s Forward of the Champions League season: Jennifer Hermoso (Barcelona and Spain)