Bundesliga title is decided in dramatic final day involving Bayern Munich and Borussia Dortmund

Borussia Dortmund had a first Bundesliga title since in over a decade snatched away from them by Bayern Munich on a dramatic final day in the German top flight.

Bayern have completely dominated the Bundesliga and have now won the league for an eleventh consecutive season.

After Sebastien Haller missed an early penalty against Mainz, the visitors led courtesy of goals from Andreas Hanche-Olsen and Karim Onisiwo in the first half.

Raphael Guerrero pulled one back and have hope for Edin Terzic’s men, who were two points clear going into the final matchday.

Bayern were winning away at Koln through a strike from Kingsley Coman but found themselves level and ultimately losing the title when Dejan Ljubicic netted an 81st minute penalty.

News filtered through to the Signal Iduna Park and wild celebrations ensued in the stands. But the drama was not done there as Jamal Musiala came off the bench to score a stunning goal that sealed yet another title for Bayern.

Dortmund threw absolutely everything at Mainz and scored an equaliser deep in stoppage time courtesy of former Bayern defender Niklas Sule.

But it was too late and Dortmund’s long wait for a Bundesliga title continues. This was their arguably their best chance to usurp Bayern and become champions and yet they fell short in a cruel finale.

Many players dropped to their knees and were left crestfallen and in tears when the final whistle sounded. Still, the iconic Yellow Wall behind the goal made sure to applaud their efforts and didn’t stop chanting for their team even in such a heartbreaking moment.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top