Fans have contended that Brighton’s Pascal Gross should have been sent off for his foul on Liverpool’s Dominik Szoboszlai, which resulted in a penalty kick.
According to IFAB laws, the German player brought down Szoboszlai in the penalty area with the score tied at 1-1, and referee Anthony Taylor awarded a penalty kick.
Mohamed Salah successfully converted the spot kick, giving Jurgen Klopp’s team the lead. Surprisingly, Gross did not receive a caution or red card for the foul, and VAR reviewed and confirmed the decision.
While many Liverpool fans were pleased with the outcome, some questioned the referee’s decision, arguing that Gross had effectively denied Szoboszlai an opportunity to score, which should have resulted in a red card.
And This Is Anfield writer Jack Lusby posted a screenshot of the updated IFAB laws to X (Twitter).
— Jack Lusby (@LusbyJack) October 8, 2023
The law states that a player should be cautioned if they commit an offence where they made ‘an attempt to play the ball or a challenge for the ball’.
In all other circumstances, the player should receive a red card for denying a goalscoring opportunity.
A double jeopardy law exists where referees do not show a red card to a player after giving away a penalty – but only if they have made a clear and genuine challenge for the ball.
AndLiverpoolfans are arguing that Gross made no attempt to play the ball in bringing down Szoboszlai – and should have been sent off as a result.
You can see the incident below.
— K (@KeiLFC8) October 8, 2023
Taking to X (Twitter), one wrote: “Denial of goalscoring opportunity with no effort to get the ball. Clear red card.”
Another said: “I get the double jeopardy rule but the player didn’t play any attempt to win the ball.”
A third added: “How has Gross not been sent off for that?! Clearly stopped Szoboszlai scoring.”
According to theLiverpool Echo, VAR officials did not see Szoboszlai’s chance as a ‘clear goalscoring opportunity’ – although no official comment has yet been made by PGMOL, the refereeing body.
Either way, the debate will surely rumble on.
What are your thoughts on the referee’s decision? Let us know in the comments.