Liverpool fans express anger towards VAR for not awarding a penalty for a handball against Chelsea

VAR was the target of Liverpool fans’ frustration as they expressed their displeasure after a penalty was not awarded against Chelsea for a handball by Nicolas Jackson.

In the sequence of events, Dominik Szoboszlai’s corner was directed towards the goal by Luis Diaz, who netted Liverpool’s opening goal.

However, the ball struck Jackson’s hand from an extremely close range as he leapt for the ball.

Referee Anthony Taylor didn’t signal for a penalty during the match, prompting VAR to review the decision.

Following the VAR review, the incident was judged as not meriting a penalty, leading to the continuation of play.

While opinions varied on whether the decision was correct, a considerable number of Liverpool fans certainly voiced their discontent.

Liverpool fans livid at VAR decision

Taking to Twitter to react to the decision, one Liverpool fan wrote: “Liverpool robbed here imo. Handball means penalty, especially when the hand changes the direction of the ball after a strike or header.”

Another added: “No idea how that wasn’t a Liverpool penalty. Not like his hands were tucked in against his body. Strange officiating.”

A third claimed: “How’s that not a penalty? That’s going in without that handball.”

One Chelsea fan agreed: “To be fair, I’d be fuming if that penalty wasn’t given for us in the Liverpool box.”

Other viewers, meanwhile, debated the current handball law: “Law 12 is incredibly flawed if a handball like that isn’t a pen.”

Another said: “Another season of me not understanding the handball law.”

The current FA handball law –Law 12– states: “It is an offence if a player touches the ball with their hand/arm when it has made their body unnaturally bigger.

“A player is considered to have made their body unnaturally bigger when the position of their hand/arm is not a consequence of, or justifiable by, the player’s body movement for that specific situation.”

Should Liverpool have received a penalty, or did VAR make the correct call? Let us know in the comments.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top